Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Am I crazy?  Crazy to attempt a half marathon 9 months after giving birth to a baby boy?  And not just any baby boy, but a gigantic and awesomely huge 10 pound, 5 ounce baby boy!?!

I have done about 14 half marathons in my life (and 2 full marathons), my favorite one being a race held in my old backyard of South Beach.  I’ve run that particular race since its inception, when it used to the called the Toyota Prius Marathon in the early 2000s and I ran it when ING took over the sponsorship.  But all of those runs were pre-baby, when my boobs weren’t swollen with milk and my hips didn’t need their own zip code.

The Acadia National Park Half Marathon would mark my entry back into the world of racing and require me to stop pretending that eating a bar of chocolate a day is essential for optimal breastfeeding.  This particular race is held in June when the unpredictable temperatures on Mount Desert Island range from 45 to 80 degrees.  And this race is known for crazy elevation, taking the runner from 51 ft to 371 ft for a total elevation gain of 453 ft (I don’t understand the math either, but this info came from the course website).  The Acadia half marathon is capped at 250 runners and instead of cash prizes, they have “great, unique, locally made products and gift certificates for the winners.”  You’ve gotta love Maine.

In contrast, the Miami course is flat and fast and is run by over 20,000 runners so you can imagine the noise and excitement as thousands of cheering spectators line the streets to shout your name and cheer you on (and offer you beer as the case may be).  The race is held in February when the average temp in Miami ranges from 61-77 degrees.  Despite the fact that Maine beer is amazing, I doubt there will be anyone lining the Acadia course helping me get my carbs in such a tasty fashion.Acadia National ParkBottom line though – I am one of the 250 runners signed up for the Acadia National Park Half Marathon and if I am really going to make my entry back into the world of sweat and training plans and compression socks, I better come up with a plan.  And fast.  The half marathon is less than 8 weeks away…

::Gulp::  Does anyone have any suggestions on how to go from a comfortable 3 mile run/walk to an incline intensive 13.1 miles, and in such a short time?  Any specific advice for post-pregnancy running? A very wise friend of mine once told me that running after having a baby makes you feel as if you’d been taken apart limb by limb and then reassembled in the wrong order.  Any help in giving me a fighting chance in making this half marathon a real possibility would be greatly appreciated.  Although, considering that the weather is taking a turn towards “amazing!,” getting myself out the door might not be so hard after all!