Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay.  It’s official.  Spring is finally here!  Yes, I know we may have a few more inches of snow in store and that I can’t get my hopes up too much until Memorial Day has come and gone, but… the feeling in the air today is undeniable – it’s SPRING!

As of 2:30 pm, it’s 57 degrees with a UV index that is not 0!  The sun is shinning, the snow is melting in narrow rivulets down every available surface and my car is filling up with a nice, thick layer of mud.  It’s Spring!

In honor of the amazing weather today, we took a drive down to Belfast to have breakfast at one of my favorite places, Chase’s Daily.  It’s a warm, open space that serves the most flavorful vegetarian food around.  The first time JG and I stumbled across it, we didn’t know it was a vegetarian restaurant.  We sat at the counter because it was so packed and I asked to see the menu before we ordered our drinks so I could figure out if there was anything I could eat (I am a pescatarian).  To my surprise, everything that caught my eye was meat-less and when I excitedly declared that Chase’s Daily was a vegetarian restaurant, the server kind of shrugged and was like, “Yeah, we don’t really put that out there but you won’t find any meat on the menu.”  I guess in Maine, where you can go pick out your cow from the farm down the street, they didn’t want to put anyone off by slapping a vegetarian sticker on the front door.  (In case you were wondering, I had their featured reuben sandwich, which is something I order whenever I am lucky enough to find it, and it was delicious!)

Since Belfast sits waterside, the wind whipping through downtown can be brutal but today was calm and the sun warmed everything on the north side of the street.  We saw many huge smiles atop pale arms and legs, and for the first time I was able to wear BT in my carrier without covering him in a snowsuit and hat.  I could tell he wasn’t used to feeling the sun on his face or a gentle breeze ruffle his light hair.  He kept squinting all around and then burying his face into my chest.  He was excited though and I felt so bad having to put him back into his car seat after wandering around for a time.  I promised him many, many walks in his new Thule stroller this summer.

Spring has Sprung!

Spring has shaken loose its chains! There’s no turning back now!

Putting away the winter toys

Putting away the winter toys

Breaking out the Weber grill!

Breaking out the Weber grill!