Tags

, , , , , , ,

We are watching the election coverage tonight. Once again, it looks like Ohio and Florida are going to play a pivotal role in deciding who our president will be. Hopefully, no issue with hanging chads in this election. You know, Ohio is often referred to as a “bellwether” state because the outcome in Ohio is generally the same as the national outcome,** and that got me thinking. Exactly what is a bellwether? According to my extensive internet research (okay, my lazy fingers went as far as Wikipedia) the term bellwether is derived from the Middle English term “bellewether” and refers to the practice of placing a bell around the neck of a castrated ram (a wether) leading his flock of sheep. The movements of the flock could be noted by hearing the bell before the flock was in sight. Who knew they would come in handy?
Damn, and I lent my castrated ram out to my neighbor yesterday…

**Ohio currently has a match rate of 93.1% and has the longest perfect streak in predicting our president.