Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have a few fun updates for you, my loyal readers (consisting mostly of blood and marriage related family at this point.  Oh, how family can make the world a better place.  Thank you for supporting me).

*First, kickball Thursday was a slamming success!  My team won 4 to 1.  The game consisted of nine innings and took only 38 minutes.  Too quick by my count (I only had time for a beer and a half).  I was up to kick three times and got on base with my first kick, a nice, low ground ball to third base.  But my toes got the better of pitches 2 and 3 and sent the ball sailing high to second base, right into the open arms of our opponents.  All in all, it was a great time and I made some new friends, real nice Minnesotan locals.  There are two more games in the season and then it will be on to ice fishing, hockey or something.

                  

*Second, today, September 22, 2012, is the first official day of Fall.  That actually means something this year.  And quite a few leaves have begun to change already, including the trees directly across from our balcony.  I was unhappy to hear, however, that the locals are predicting a less than spectacular fall color change, due to the summer’s prolonged dryness.  I’m hopeful that I will get my money’s worth visually this fall, even if it means taking a long drive outside of town to look for the best foliage areas.

I am enjoying watching the leaves across the street get brighter and brighter.  When the sunlight hits them, they look golden.  For some reason, the Wizard of Oz song comes into my mind when I see the ever-brighter leaves dancing in the wind.  Maybe it’s time to break out the classics and get back to basics.

              

Here are some more photos from our long, back-country bike rides.  We are planning on setting out again tomorrow morning after being sidelined last weekend by the first colds of the season.  I will try to take more pictures then.  I still can’t get over the openness and fresh air up here.  It is a welcome change from the Miami congestion.

             

Have a wonderful first day of Fall and Go Gators!!!!!